News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

EZ track & 22" radius

Started by Mom of two, November 28, 2010, 07:07:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mom of two

I am new to model railroading in that I am building my son a layout.  We have the 22" radius Nickel EZ Track and I would like to install some switches to add an extra layer in the oval (outer half circle) in the oval we already have, however I am not sure what turnout we need - any suggestions?  I apologize if I am not using the correct terminology, kind of learning as I go with the layout.

simkon

If you have 22" radius, that means that you turnouts that have to equal out to 22" radius, so you would want to get #5 or #6 turnouts. The #5 turnouts are Product Codes: 44565 (left) and 44566 (right) as seen here:

The #6 turnouts are Product Codes: 44560 (right) & 44559 (left) and are as seen below:

Mom of two

Thank you very much! 
I have seen both of these but was not sure which one worked with the 22" radius track.  They looked very similar, # 6 being longer. 
Every layout plan I have found only had the turnouts for the 18" radius track, you have made my day, and my five year old's - he is going to be so happy when I install some switches for him!

simkon

Just be sure you know which track pieces you want to use to make the half circle, because it is not straight forward. If you only want to make a passing siding that is a half circle you will likely need some straight pieces and possibly curved track that is a radius other than 22" depending on what you want to do.

Jim Banner