EZ Track Geometry - for parallel lines and yards

Started by sverigesson, September 07, 2008, 02:09:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sverigesson

Hello EZ Trackers!  I'm new to EZ Track so I would appreciate some advice.

What is the center to center gap between the parallel straights on the EZ Track left and right crossovers?  Which parallel (concentric) curves would match up to that gap?   I run longer equipment so 18 inch radius is out.  22 inch radius is the absolute tightest I can go and larger, 26 and 28, are better.
Also, what would be the center to center gap between parallel lines if two #5 or #6 turnouts were used?  Is there a book or publication that would have all this information?
Thanks for the help.
Mark

Joe Satnik

Dear sverigesson,

#6 crossover gap: 2-3/8"

Closest curve pair: 33-1/4"R and 35-1/2"R (= 2-1/4" difference)

#5 turnout pair gap: guess 4" (measuring products section picture)

closest curve pair: 22"R and 26"R

#6 turnout pair:  guess 4" (measuring products section picture)

again, 22"R and 26"R

The latest EZ-Track book (see home page) may have some dimensions.  Terry T. would know more.

Hope this helps. 

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

Yampa Bob

Hey Joe,
How's the "dandruff"  LOL  Glad you had the information Mark needed, and I pasted it to my digital log for reference.

This is the kind of information that Bachmann might consider adding to their book. It also would be nice to have templates for all their pieces.

Now if Bachmann would make a 90' EZ Track turntable and free the 2" straights......  :D

Thanks
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

Joe Satnik

Dear Bob,

Thanks for the kind words.  Glad someone reads my posts.  (Some get long winded.)

SWMBO has not yet given me a bottle of Selsun Blue, guess I'll have to think harder.