Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => HO => Topic started by: tangocharles on November 20, 2017, 07:26:41 PM



Title: More power?
Post by: tangocharles on November 20, 2017, 07:26:41 PM
I've recently bought the Bachmann HO scale EZ Track Train Set for my Christmas setting. I bought several additional pieces of track due to the size of the display. I also bought a graduating scale set of brackets allowing for an over/under figure 8 configuration.

Running the locomotive by itself appears to be fine and it scoots around the track as expected. However, as soon as I hook up the tinder box, the locomotive can barely pull it around the track. I also have 5 other cars and the locomotive will not pull all of them.

Have I bought and implemented too much track for the power supply that came with the package? I'm relatively new to this hobby so I may be missing some basic.

I'll say I added 15 or so pieces of track. Do I have a power supply issue? If so, how do I correct the problem?


Title: Re: More power?
Post by: Flare on November 20, 2017, 07:51:43 PM
Do the tender/cars have too much resistance in their wheels?

I had that problem with a set of cars I bought once.  Replacing the wheels made them roll better.


Another thing that may help is cleaning the rails, even new ones can have oxide buildup on them.  (rubbing alcohol on a lint-free cloth will work in a pinch if you don't have track/wheel cleaning fluid)


If the cars roll freely and cleaning the track doesn't help, perhaps your layout is a bit too long and it's losing power.  Using a second terminal rerailer on the opposite side of the layout might do the trick, Bachmann makes a 10-foot extension cable so you can connect both terminal tracks to your speed controller.

http://shop.bachmanntrains.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=879_604_782_784&products_id=2515


Title: Re: More power?
Post by: Terry Toenges on November 21, 2017, 01:51:39 AM
Which set did you buy so we know which loco you have? Is it doing that on the flat part, too or when you go up?


Title: Re: More power?
Post by: tangocharles on November 21, 2017, 10:48:19 AM
It's the 0-6-0 Locomotive, if I understand the documentation. Yes, mostly on the grade. Right now, it'll never pull all the cars. I was given some advice on adding a derailer which I may give a shot. Relocating the one derailer that I have to a more centralized location worked better on the flats, but still not enough for the grade.

Like I said, I'm new to this hobby and have quite a bit to figure out.

Any feedback or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.


Title: Re: More power?
Post by: jonathan on November 21, 2017, 10:56:17 AM
Actually, it sounds like your grade is too steep.  Are the locomotive wheels slipping as you go up and over?  The 0-6-0 is a small locomotive and no amount of throttle is going to help it climb a steep grade. The idea is to have a gradual rise; something less than 3% (three inches of rise for every 100 inches of travel) is probably workable for this loco.

Regards,

Jonathan


Title: Re: More power?
Post by: jward on November 23, 2017, 09:41:26 AM
I will second what JOnathan says. I have several of the 0-6-0 locomotives. They pull well enough, but won't pull much on the upgrade portion  of my layout. My steepest incline is 4%, which limits pulling power to about 1/6 of what it will pull on the level. If you are using the ez track pier set for your incline, the grade is even steeper than 4%. If you want to pull your whole train around the track, you'll have tio make the hills less steep.