Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => Williams by Bachmann => Topic started by: Tomcat on December 29, 2008, 05:58:30 AM

Title: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: Tomcat on December 29, 2008, 05:58:30 AM
Hi there !!

Wouldn´t it be wise to start a 2-Rail Scale segment within the Williams range?
They once did and the Williams UP Challenger and their SP Cab forward were
pretty good models, solid as a rock and good looking...

Since I´m a 2-Rail Oscaler and On30 Narrow (minded...?) Gauger, I would love to see 2-Rail models coming from Bachmann. Bach-man: You folks can do this! The O-scale marked is not overcrowded since there are more or less just Weaver and Atlas who cover the production in bigger numbers...

That would make my day: Have a Bachmann-produced O-Scale engine... ;) ;) ;)

Cheers, Tom :)

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: 3rail on December 29, 2008, 07:09:46 PM
Dear Tomcat,

In the past there was never enough interest to warrant the production of 2-rail.  The models you mentioned were an exception since they were preordered in very small numbers.  If more people show an interest in the future this is something that we will consider.


Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: Jim Goodridge on January 23, 2009, 12:38:18 PM
I would love to see some 2 rail steam available in order to combine with On30.  There seems to be a dearth of small locomotives in O scale, I think there is one 2-8-0 and Atlas O has an 0-6-0.  I wonder if it might work to produce one locomotive to go with the On30 spectrum series.  Something like a 10 wheeler or a small switcher, and market it as an addition to the On30 line - almost like an accessory.  I can't help but think of  a Sandy River and Rangeley lakes 2-4-4T posed beside a 4-6-0.  There might be enough of a market with the On30 people to make a profit and to see how the standard gauge locomotive sells to the 2 rail market.  Combined with a release of a 3 rail version and the tooling might be inexpensive enough to make it worthwhile.

Best Regards

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: Hamish K on February 07, 2009, 08:43:14 PM
I agree with Jim. Perhaps, the 0-6-0t being re-introduced into the HO range could be made in O? Maybe if made both in 2 and 3 rail it could be viable. I am including a small interchange yard in my On30 layout. Currently just a spur of track with a standard gauge gondola parked on it. It would be nice to make it operational with a swithcher removing and replacing the standard gauge car(s). I would prefer 2 rail, 3 rail, combined with the 2 rail On30 would, I think, look a bit strange.

I am sure I am not the only one who would like to do this.


Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: Joe Satnik on February 08, 2009, 09:23:36 AM
Dear All,

HO and On30 track/wheel profiles are much smaller than 2 rail O.  This would cause compatibility problems with dual gauge track, turnouts, crossovers, crossings, common rail changers, etc.  Anywhere guard rails are used.  (Wheel flange thickness determines guard rail spacing.)   

If the two tracks were always separate, no problem.  I suppose an HO/2RO crossing could be made to work, though you would have to level the rail top height differences between the two gauges.

Hope this helps.


Joe Satnik 

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: OGReditor on February 08, 2009, 10:05:17 AM
I personally think they're wise to stick with 3-rail at this point in time--particularly at this point in time.

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: GermanBigboy on May 16, 2009, 08:13:29 AM
As a 2 railer, a CP modeler and an ALCO PA fan I decided to buy an ABA set from WBB because of the nice price. One power, 2 dummy's. To have more powered units I bought  2 MTH powered B units. After unpacking the MTH B units and comparing them to the WBB ALCO's I was little disappointed about the lack of detail on the WBB units. No separate handrails, no open mesh on the sides and the worst thing is that the wheelbase is not correct according to drawings I found in a Kalmbach book. The WBB B unit went on an internet auction to Canada. They are now sitting for abaout 2 1/2 years in my basement waiting for scale wheels that have to be turn on a friends CNC lathe. Wheelbase is corrected but I still have to repaint the MTH units and have the holes for the unpowered wheels centered. I also found some stainless steel wire for grab irons. So at the moment WBB should stay with 3 rail if there willbe no improvment on the details. I was thinking severall times to cancel the whole project but know it's too far and has to go to the hopefully not bitter end.

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: DominicMazoch on May 17, 2009, 12:56:41 AM
How about 2R trucks, motors and reverse units one could just "drop in"?

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: 3rail on May 17, 2009, 12:52:26 PM
Hi Dominic,

The 2 rail standard is DC so no reverse board would be necessary.  The trucks would all need new wheels and to be insulated from each other.



Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: DominicMazoch on May 17, 2009, 03:33:14 PM

Forgot DC!  But I was thinking along the lines of truck/motor sets you could exchange out, like the 3R repowering units for dummies.

Title: Re: 2-Rail Oscale
Post by: az2rail on May 17, 2009, 09:37:13 PM
I think Williams has found a nice niche. Folks that want dependable and inexpensive trains.

Once you go to 2-rail, people are going to start demanding better detail, and that will drive the price up, and people will start complaining about the price.