News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Does size really matter?

Started by bob39520, September 18, 2009, 06:01:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bob39520

Would I be correct that an O scale car could be an On30 if I replaced the wheels w/HO wheel sets?

Even though my On30 loco runs on my HO layout (no very far of course), I assume that my new layout should use O scale stuff like bridges to look more realistic. In other words, I could increase the distance of the railing on my HO trestle bridge and it would work on my On30 loco but am guessing that it's not really the right size.

You may assume that I am new to model railroading, have never seen a layout except in a magazine and on the internet and live in no place USA.
You would be correct....
Pelahatchie Bob

Hamish K

On30 is 1:48 scale on 16.5mm (HO) gauge track. HO is 1:87 scale on 16.5mm track. This means that HO scale structures, bridges etc. are likely to look wrong (all aspects and details too small) even if it can accommodate the On30 loco and stock.

HO represents standard gauge prototypes (track width 4 foot eight and a half inches). OnN30 represents narrow gauge prototypes. The track width scales at about 30 inches, but it is often used to represent 3 foot gauge and 2 foot gauge prototypes as well. 

You could put On30 trucks and wheel sets on O scale cars, but note that narrow gauge equipment was usually smaller (often considerably) than standard gauge equipment, although of course there were exceptions.  Converted standard gauge cars will often look big compared to On30 locos etc.

I hope this helps

Hamish

Hamish

mabloodhound

Hamish is correct in saying that although "O" scale cars would be 1:48, they would look out of proportion to the narrow gauge On30 cars and locomotives.
What many modelers do (and did before there was Bachmann On30) was to use HO cars and build them up, wider and longer to match 1:48 (1/4" = 1 foot).