News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Help with power pac size

Started by zotzgotz, November 20, 2009, 05:10:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zotzgotz

I am new to trains and need help. I received the Hawthorne village NFL theme train and ez track complete with power pac. It has 18 cars the loco appears to be strong enough to pull them but as it gets to the opposite side of the layout it comes to a crawl. Do i need a bigger power pac. Are 18 too muck for one loco, can I use two loco's at once on same train. Sorry for all the questions I am a novice who wants to show off for his kids. thanks for any help or advice ???

ABC

I am not familiar with what you bought, but first you can double head your engines (that is if you have 2 or more), or if you only have one you may have to shorten the train. The power pack cannot supply more "juice" for 1 individual locomotive, but can supply enough amps to allow you to safely run more locos which equals more pulling power. Who make the locomotive is it Life-Like or Bachmann or someone else?

jward

two things come to mind that may be causing the slowdown.
1. is your train table perfectly level? even a slight tilt to the table will affect how much your locomotive can pull. it will obviously pull more downhill than uphill. and will tend to bog down on the uphill parts.

2. i am assuming you only have one set of wires (feeders) connected to the track. running a second set of feeder wires to the back part of the layout will help resolve any voltage drop issues you may have. just be sure to connect the wires in the back the same way as in the front, or else you will get a short and trip the power pack's circuit breaker. if this happens, simply swap the two wires to the back section and everything should work.
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

Michigan Railfan