News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Mystery Short

Started by jonathan, January 27, 2010, 07:13:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jonathan

Because I have a garage layout, I can't run trains in the winter.  So my winter project has been building a Pennsy G5 (4-6-0). The shell and chassis is Bowser.  The tender is Penn Line.

This morning I installed the motor (skew wound DC-71) and did a test run.  The engine shorts out on right hand curves (22" radius).  It runs fine going straight or left.  I have all wheel pick up in the tender, so I didn't wire the motor to the loco frame.

At first I thought it was the pony trucks, so I removed them and ran the engine... still shorts on the right curve.  However, if I lift the front of the engine a little, it begins to run again.

223 pieces of the loco are metal.  The only plastic parts are the tender trucks and tender axles.  I'm no electrician, so I'm at a loss to solve the problem.  My gut says either the front drive wheels or the pilot is bridging the tracks somehow.  Is there a simple test to find the short?

Thanks for reading this.  Will post pics when I get this last bug out of it.

Regards,

Jonathan

jonathan

Here's a few pics with the pieces test fit.

BaltoOhioRRfan

Please tell me you don't have that Pennsy engine on the Belt Line through the Howard Street Tunnel :-P

anyway, see if you have any metal(Frame included) touching the wheels, sounds like the drivers might be coming in contact with something. turn the loco upside down and replicate the right turn and see if anything is touching the wires.

If possible, take leads from the track and hold em against the pickups while replicating the turns.
Emily C.
BaltoOhioRRFan
B&O - America's #1 Railroad.

My Collection on FB - https://www.facebook.com/EmilysModelRailroad
My Collection on YouTube = https://www.youtube.com/user/BORRF

pdlethbridge