Sante Fe Diesel Loco (Item #60102) with DCC

Started by allstate8114093292, June 14, 2010, 07:04:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

allstate8114093292

Hi all.  I am new here.  I have a question about a recently purchased DCC Sante Fe loco. 

First off, can anyone tell me the proper controller for this engine?

Secondly, can this engine be run on regular DC until I get a controller.  If so, what do I have to switch to run it on regular DC?

I am totally new to DCC, but decided if I was going to buy a new diesel, might as well buy the newest technology.  Hope my decision was the right one.

Lastly, does Bachmann make a dummy to hook to the above diesel to make up a pair for pulling passenger cars or freight cars?

I know, a ton of questions.

I'd appreciate any help here.

Thanks in advance.

Jack

ABC

This locomotive will run on DC or DCC, but runs a lot better on DCC especially after changing the CVs to your liking. Bachmann does not make any dummy FT-A's or B's, but you can buy a powered FT-B. A Bachmann E-Z Command DCC System will allow basic capabilities like changing address, direction, and dimming or turning on/off the lights. If you were to buy a locomotive with sound it can control up to 8 sound effects. It cannot program advanced configuration variables (CVs) like bemf and speed tables or changing from 14/27/28/128 speed steps or customizing sound effects to your liking.
I would suggest you start out with the E-Z Command System and when the time is right move on to a more advanced (and expensive) system like Bachmann's Dynamis (Wireless Infrared) DCC System.