News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Big hauler ?

Started by lrparks, May 23, 2007, 08:31:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lrparks

I'm new to garden railroading and I am looking for my first locomotive. I'm considering the Mountaineer set (90048). I am assuming the locomotive in that set is different from the Anniversary Edition 4-6-0 locomotive. What are the differences?

What is the maximum grade I can expect to pull with the Mountaineer starter set if I added a caboose? I'm using Aristocraft track with a 10A 0-20V power supply.

I saw the tractive effort test article at http://www.girr.org/girr/tips/tips4/tractive_effort_tests.html. Is there a newer article out there that compares all the current Bachmann locomotives to each other and other Aristocraft and LGB locomotives? I prefer Bachmann, but I am curious how the different Bachmann's stack up against each other and other manufacturers.

Thanks for any comments.

Matthew (OV)

The Anniversary Edition locomotive has Walshaerts valve gear, in metal, an updated drive, and a lot of seperate detail parts that make it very like its Spectrum cousins.  "Standard" edition 4-6-0's don't have these upgrades.  Many recent sets have used the Anniversary locomotive though, so if you're interested in getting your hands on one (you should be...) but still want the set, it's worth checking into which sets are now offered with one. (The Sam's Club christmas set is an example, and there are others.)

George Schreyer wrote that page before a lot of the current offerings were available.  While the Shay was, and is, an excellent pulling locomotive, there is annecdotal evidence that the 2-8-0, and the other geared locomotives pull very well also.  The 4-4-0 and 2-6-0 (Spectrum) are a bit lighter weight, and the small industrial 2-6-0 is very light weight unless you modify it ....  and of course the new Shay is, powerwise, the old Shay plus one more power truck.