News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

dimensions on #6 Crossover?

Started by xero1123, July 30, 2010, 12:13:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xero1123

Hi there, I'm thinking about getting a crossover to go to an outer loop. The only problem is I am having a hard time finding the length of the actual piece. The sites keep giving me different answers, but hobbylinc says 21 - 1/4" I just wanted to ask if this is the correct measurement. The reason I'm asking is that it is going to go on one side of my layout that is 42", and I don't know how to break down the track to keep it that length. If I alter the length on that, the rest of the layout will have to be altered, and I'm trying to keep it as least expensive as possible

also, I have the #5 Switch, and was thinking about getting a second one instead to make the crossover that way. However, once again I do not know what the dimensions would be. Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to this.

ABC

Just cut the straight track to fit and use a little adhesive on the side of the roadbed and rail joiners.

vidguy069

I can't answer the #6 crossover because I no longer have any.
However the 'straight edge' of a #5 turn out is 11.5 inches.

Hope this is helpful

Vidguy069

jward

i can't give a definitive answer regarding ez track, but an atlas number 6 crossover is 20" in length on 2" centers. so 21 1/4" seems like a reasonable dimension.

that said, if you are using 22" radius for your outer loop, then your table will need to be be at least 68" long. 21 1/4 + 44 = 65 1/4"......this dimension would be between the centerlines of the 22" curves at either end. 68" would bring the track extremely close to the edge of the table.

you have three options:

1. use #5 crossover, and hope it fits.

2. redesign the layout for a larger table, say 72" or 78" wide.

3. add wood blocks to either end of the table only in the places where the tracks overhang the edges.