News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Single Train Power

Started by wmsuggs, February 02, 2011, 02:14:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wmsuggs

Hello,
As I am new to the hobby, I have a question? How many sections of EZ Track can you hook up to one power pack? I read somewhere that if you have a lot of track in your layout then you need to run extra wires. If this is true how would you do this? I don't want to burn anything up. Please help.

Wes

ACY

You can have as much track connected as you want, but the further your locomotive is from the power source the more likely your loco may slow down, for every predetermined length of track to be determined by your own preferences, add feeder wires, these would all be wired from the same power source, do not use multiple power sources.

daxdog

I bet that would be a whole lot of track.  I have not measured, but I think I have just over 50' of track on my layout.  I am only connected in one spot and I have no issues.

ACY

Quote from: daxdog on February 02, 2011, 02:58:32 PM
I bet that would be a whole lot of track.  I have not measured, but I think I have just over 50' of track on my layout.  I am only connected in one spot and I have no issues.
If you just built your layout, then you won't notice much of a drop-off, but after the track and connectors get kind of dirty, then you will notice a difference.
Daxdog search the forum and you'll see many people said what I said, that it is best to have feeders every so often.

Jhanecker2

To  wmsuggs :  All you will have to do is to  add more terminal rerailer tracks and basically daisy chain them together .   You connect them with two conductor wire , making sure to maintain correct polarity . This may be time to acquire  one of a number of fine books on model railroad wiring  and  an inexpensive  volt-ohm meter to allow you to test your tracks electrical condition .   John II.

daxdog

Quote from: ACY on February 02, 2011, 03:06:33 PM