News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Crown Freight Cars

Started by Grand Junction RR, June 16, 2007, 11:35:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grand Junction RR

Hello all: Another newbie here. A little about me. I have been buying freight cars for at least fifteen years, I think it's a disease. I am now producing a line of custom dec cars.  Biggest problem with the custom dec is supply of blank cars considering Horizon Hobby's policies. But, that's another topic for another day.  I am trying to gather information about Crown Products. They put out a very nice line of freight cars about forty years ago. They were supposed to be a line of inexpensive cars. The couple of cars I have right now are as good or better than Athearn was at that time. They were almost a duplicate of Athearn with a couple of improvments. The box cars had much better door and door track detail, the stirrups were finer and the graphics were as good or better than Athearn at that time. They were sold in blister packs off hanging racks. They seemed to drop off the face of the planet. So far, I can not trace them beyond their last address at Woodbury Heights NJ. Any information about this company would be appreciated. Thanks for any help. Regards, Al al@customrail.com

cmgn9712

Crown was the old Varney tooling moved to Hong Kong. They only lasted a year or two. The cars  were sold on blister cards for less than a buck. They were not very good and quickly went out of business. The tooling eventually ended up as Lifelikes train set (poor) quality stuff.

Paul M.

I consider them to be pretty good models. I think they were made in the 1980s.

The best thing about Crown :

They made T&P gondolas!!!!!

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

MrMunchkin