News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

derailment

Started by mrmtox, March 26, 2011, 08:58:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrmtox

I have just set up the "Empire Builder" kit.  The front wheels of the loco will not stay on the track for more than one circuit at any speed. It appears to operate best between about 55 - 65% power, but continuously derails. Any suggestions??? Thanks (I'm very new to this)

James in FL

Hi mrmtox,

Check the wheel gauge on the pony truck. Also check that the pony truck mounting screw is not to tight as to hinder pivot motion and vertical play.

The wheel gauge is easiest checked with a NMRA go/no go gauge, but can be checked with calipers if you don't have one.
Cost of the gauge is ~ 10USD at most LHS, on line, or train shows.

Good reading for beginners here
http://www.nmra.org/beginner/derailments.html

http://www.nmra.org/beginner/wheelsets.html

http://www.nmra.org/standards/sandrp/pdf/S-4.2%202010.02.24.pdf

Good Luck.

mrmtox

James - thanks for the tips - I'll try them this afternoon.  Where are you in FL? I'm in Tampa.

mrmtox

Wheel gauge and mounting screw are fine. It's almost as if that front truck needs a bit more weight on it. Is that reasonable?

James in FL

I live across Tampa Bay from you, in pinellas county, about a mile north from Maderia Beach.
I hope you attended the WGH show at the Tampa convention center last weekend, It was great to see all the manufacturers there.

PM me, maybe we could meet up at some up coming shows.

Guess we are both typing at the same time, some weight maybe what works best for yours I don't find it necessary on any of mine. You could try some tungston putty or small lead shot pounded flat and glued.

ericw95