News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Old Wiliams Trainmaster

Started by rtraincollector, May 01, 2011, 04:24:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rtraincollector

I have an old FM Trainmaster PRR By williams this is so old it has the plastic fuel tank area instead of diecast which Williams switched to for weight. any way my question is will this run on O-27 track I know the new ones say O-31

DominicMazoch

It will do 27 straights, but not the curves.

phillyreading

Try it on 027 curves, it may go through them but not the 027 switches on the curve without getting hung-up in the switch housing. That is why a lot of companies say that something is made for 027 rather then 031 curves.

Lee F.

GTBob

I have a WbW FP-45 loco that is the same length as your Trainmaster (17").  I run it all the time on 027 track.  It handles a 90 degree 027 curve without any trouble.  It will not work on a Lionel 027 switch as the fuel tank of the FP-45 overhangs too much and hits the relay housing of the switch.

As long as you can get away w/o using Lionel 027 switches, you should be fine.

Bob
"If a man does his best, what else is there!"--General George S. Patton Jr.

rtraincollector

No switches for this plan just a big loop around the ceiling area of the room ( 14' X 16' ) it will be the train on the outside inside and on either 1x4's or 2x4's for a little lift will be my standard gauge set I discovered I actually have room to run 2 standard gauge sets but only have one lol so figure run this with some passenger cars in front of my prewar standard gauge set an 8E and 2 passenger cars all in olive green.

phillyreading

If you are going to run a train around the ceiling, supported by wall brackets, make sure to leave enough room between the wall and the track or you will scrape the wall with a long engine or passenger car.