News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

new

Started by fyzal, July 07, 2011, 03:07:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fyzal

Gentlemen I'm new to this hobby I'm a modeler and graphic artist and I have tons of questions please be patient with me:-)

1.)First I'll give it a try,anytime soon my HO bachmann union pacific #4432 w/ smoke will arrive,product description says its DCC Compatibility: DCC Compatible - No socket or plug
     Q: can i put sounds on this train?
2.)Tracks
     Q: even if i have a bachmann train can i use a different brand of tracks?
     Q: if my track is the ez tracks is it possible to connect other brand of tracks?

hope you can help me to this new found hobby..appreciate it!

jonathan

Welcome Fyzal!  Hope you find the hobby as enjoyable as I do.

1.  The UP #4432 is a small 0-6-0 switcher with a SMALL slopeback tender.  This locomotive does not come with DCC.  If you are indeed a beginner, this would be a very tough locomotive to cut your teeth on.  Installing sound would be a challenge for an experienced DCC guy.  Bachmann does sell a few versions of the 0-6-0 with DCC already, but not sound.  Don't know about a UP version, though.  The Prairie version (2-6-2) does come with a large enough tender, that sound may be possible.  Don't know of anyone who has done it, yet.  As you are already a modeler, perhaps dealing with small spaces and small tools will be second nature.

2.  Any HO Scale track will work with Bachmann trains.

4.  Yes. it is fairly easy to connect other brands of track to your EZ track.  You will have to raise the level of the other track, usually done with cork roadbed or similar type products.

Hope this helps and enjoy your new found passtime.  It's addicting.  :)

Regards,

Jonathan

jward

jonathan has pretty much covered your basic questions.