e-z mate knuckle couplers

(1/3) > >>

skooksteve:
I'm very new to model railroading (just an egg compared to some folks on here). Just purchased a Bachmann Chattanooga and don't know what type of (e-z mate) couplers it has. Online I see several kinds: center shank, under shank and over shank. Don't know what this means really. I'm hoping to adapt some used cars I was given to work with the e-z mate system.  I appreciate any education I can get.

jward:
most couplers that come on new locomotives and cars are centerset shank.

on a knuckle type coupler, you have 3 basic parts:

the knuckle is the moveable part. it usually has a trip pin for use with magnetic uncouplers.

the head is the thick part the knuckle pivots off of.

the shank is the part that extends back into the coupler box, under the floor of the car.

on a normal coupler the shank is positioned in the center of the head. overset means the shank is positioned at the top of the head, lowering the coupler. underset means the shank is at the bottom of the head raising the coupler. these variations in shank are intended to help in converting older cars to knuckle couplers, which may not have their coupler mountings at what is now a standard height.

Jerrys HO:
skook,

To add to jwards post you mentioned  some used cars given to you. Depending how old they may have the horn hook style coupler mounted on the trucks (wheels). Most of these had plastic wheels which are ok for some but most prefer metal wheel sets.

I replaced most of my older cars with new wheel sets and purchased the Kadee #5 coupler. It comes with coupler boxes and knuckle couplers that I built and mounted under the car. Some cars I was able to drill and screw the box on and others I had glued on.

Jerry

skooksteve:
Jward, thanks for the basic ed on couplers. Also, thanks Jerry for giving me some things to consider when adapting older cars.

Doneldon:
skook-