News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Confusing versions of locos and cars

Started by philkeys, December 25, 2011, 06:16:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

philkeys

I'm just getting started with a G scale railroad and am finding out that there are several versions of the same loco and car.  I just bought an Annie ten wheeler, a passenger car, an observation car, a tank car and bobber caboose.  The Annie I got doesn't have any valve gear.  On the Internet I see other Annies (not Spectrum) with valve gear.  My passenger car has brass colored metal railings and no lights.  The observation car has black plastic railings and lights.  I have also seen black metal railings for sale.

The observation car and caboose came in the original box so I know their item numbers.  I haven't been able to find item numbers on the loco and cars themselves.  Are they there somewhere?

Is there any references to obsolete versions somewhere?

Is it possible to add valve gear to my Annie?

Thanks for the help.

on30gn15

Quote from: philkeys on December 25, 2011, 06:16:51 PMI just bought an Annie ten wheeler, ...The Annie I got doesn't have any valve gear.  On the Internet I see other Annies (not Spectrum) with valve gear.  
Is it possible to add valve gear to my Annie?

Hey there;

I can't give absolute answer to all your questions but I can speak to the valve gear matter.
Not all Annies have outside valve gear.

If they are modeled after a prototype which had its valve gear between the wheels and frame, "inside valve gear" the model will not.

For example, these 2 do not have outside valve gear.
91605 http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/products.php?act=viewProd&productId=3730
&
91604 http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/products.php?act=viewProd&productId=3729

? --> do you have a way to take digital photos so you can post one and then link to it here so we can see what the loco is?