Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Alco RS-3 Diesel Locomotive

Started by kvponkshe, April 16, 2012, 11:22:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kvponkshe

hello,
i am new to model railroad.
i am purchasing Alco RS-3 Diesel Locomotive product code 64206.
This is dcc equipped loco.
Can I convert this to sound equipped loco?
If yes what sound module i have to use?
Please suggest..& thanks in advance.....
-Kaustubh

bapguy

There are several ways to go about this. The easiest and least expensive is to buy an MRC sound decoder with an Alco 244 engine sound sceme. They just came out with a new line of decoders priced around $65.00. Check their web sight for part #1614. The other is to get a Soundtraxx board decoder to replace the one that came in the loco. This is more expensive. Either way, you need a 28mm speaker that should fit in the hole in the fuel tank. The MRC decoder has an 8 pin harness theat will plug into the PC board on the RS  . Take out the decoder thats installed from the factory and replce it with this one. Make sure there is room inside for the capacitor to fit.  Joe

kvponkshe

Thanks a lot Bapguy.... :)
I will go with MRC sound decoder.
With this I need to remove the existing decoder in loco & install the MRC decoder in loco...right?

Thanks in advance....:)

Bucksco

It costs a little more but the SoundTraxx decoder is better....

Tom M.

I have no affiliation with either Bachmann or SoundTraxx, but fully agree with Yardmaster's comment that the SoundTraxx decoder offering is superior over MRC.  On my layout, I have two QSI diesel sound decoder locos (not very happy with the prime mover sound), one MRC diesel (not very happy with it at all), and over 40 SoundTraxx Tsunami diesel sound decoders.  I am very, very happy with SoundTraxx.

Tom

ebtbob

Good Morning All,