Spectrum HO Vanderbilt Tender DCC Ready; best place for decoder with sound

Started by jhanleyjr, July 18, 2012, 10:13:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jhanleyjr

I am new to DCC and have 2 of these highly detailed units. I intend to put my decoder in the tender as room in the steam Mehano is so tight. I can use the 2 pin for the rear light, and the four pin for loco functions. my question is how do I get inside without destroying it?

Another question, should I use the tender pickups or the loco for the DCC?

jonathan

jhanleyjr,

That's quite a project for being new to DCC. However, here are some points that may help.

This is the diagram of the Spectrum Vandy tender:

http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/dwg/dwgs/89841~42.pdf?bcsi_scan_42ED1B0805E22FDA=0&bcsi_scan_filename=89841~42.pdf

There are two screws, underneath, on either side of the trucks, that will release the shell from the frame.  Caution:  the vertical grabirons forward, and the ladders in the rear, fit into the underframe.  They could go flying.  Make sure they are loose on their bottom connections.  These parts should come up with the shell.  They innards will then make more sense to you.

For installing sound, may I recommend that you utilize both the tender pick ups and whatever pick up is available from the Mehano.  You will need as much pick up as you can muster to get the loco to run reliably.

I would also recommend mounting the speaker to the plastic coal load, sealing it as best as possible.  This makes the whole tender your baffle.  You will need to drill bunches of tiny holes in the coal load.  Won't be too noticeable and their are ways to hide the holes.  The other benefit it that the sound/movement decoder will fit in the long portion of the tender.  A Tsunami should just fit in the space.  It will be tight.  Sound decoders get warm so leave a little air space between the decoder and the shell, or funny things may happen.