News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

N scale double loop

Started by SpecialK67, September 25, 2012, 11:27:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SpecialK67

As I am new to this,I'm working on my layout plans & would like to do a double loop.It seems the most popular radius is 11.25" which is fine.I was wondering if I use 11.25" for the inside loop,would I have any problems using 14"radius for the outside loop? Any input would be greatly appreciated

Joe Satnik

Dear SpecialK67,

Minimum track center spacings are shown in these NMRA tables:

http://nmra.org/standards/sandrp/s-8.html

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

SpecialK67

Thanks a lot,I really do appreciate it.I guess another way to figure it out is use the trustee ole' compass

Desertdweller

There is another way to do this using the same radius curves for both inside and outside tracks.  Put a section of straight track into the outside curve.

Les

SpecialK67

Thanks Les, after I read your response it sounds like a good idea which makes a lot of sense. Now all I need is to find out is the different track lengths I.E. turnouts

Desertdweller

You will find the E-Z Track turnouts to be slightly longer than the E-Z Track straight sections.  There are two ways to do this:  Put the same number of E-Z Track turnouts on both sides of your loop track plan; or splice E-Z Track straight track sections to equalize the distance.  I would pop the track from the roadbed and cut the roadbed with straight square ends (use a square or miter box.  The track part can be replaced by a piece of flextrack.  If you don't want to use flextrack, then make the splice joint in the rails where they won't be directly above the splice joint in the roadbed.