News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

EZ Track Turnout causing problems

Started by tmiller, December 14, 2012, 01:19:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tmiller

I have been using the EZ Track turnouts for 2 years. For the most part they work most of the time. But I could spend a lot more time running trains if I didn't have to keep tweaking the turnouts to avoid derailments. Some locomotives work just fine, others keep derailing.

I recently purchased a Bachmann Spectrum K4 Pacific. I have one turnout that every time the K4 goes through the right hand turnout, the tenders leading truck appears to split the outside rail, and derail. Thinking that it may be a weight issue, I tried adding weights to the tender. That worked some of the time. I have filed the one moveable rail to make sure it is sitting tight against the outside rail. It looks good, but still splitting the rail. As I said, other steam locomotives don't seem to have this problem.

The only other solution would be to install a ground throw that would basically lock the turnout in position. I have done this with a few other turnouts and it solves the problem. But because of the location of this particular turnout, I have to rely on remote control. My guess is that the moveable rails are too loose and will sty tight against the outer rails. 

So, is my problem with the turnout or the tender? And does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can fix this problem?

Thanks for any help.

Ted
See you down the tracks!

bapguy

Does this tender derail on  all turnouts or just this one? Check the guage of the wheel set on the tender. On some turn outs I have, I gently bent the end of the point rail inwards a bit to make sure it was tight against the rail. Also make sure the point rails are tightly held in place by the throw bar. If they're loose, this maybe causing your problem.  Joe

Doneldon

Ted-