News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

my train won't work...

Started by rains train, August 14, 2007, 04:14:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rains train

Ok, so I've had my train for about a week now...and havent used it as much, and when I turn it on it will not work, so then I check everything in the manual, clean it, make sure everything is plugged in, and make sure that the wheels are on the track and the track is all carefully connected, and it still doesn't work...what should I do...? :-[

This is K-10's Modle Trains, AKA...best place in the world!

rains train

I really need help, I'm new to model railroading (you could probobly tell...) and I was just going to extange it, but what if this would happen again? Please, I need some opinions...

thirdrail

1. Take the train off the track.
2. Turn on the power to the track to maximum speed
3. Short out the power by placing s metal screwdriver on both terminal of the power pack for an instant. You should get a spark. If your power pack has a light, it should go on or off. (some go on with a short, some are on and go off)
4. If that worked, do the same with the track. If 3 worked and 4 didn't you have a bad connection. If neither worked, your power pack is not working.
5. If both worked, put the locomotive back on the track. Does it have a headlight? Does it light?

If it doesn't work, electricity is not getting from the wheels to the motor. The reason could vary by locomotive type and with the same type. best get a friend or dealer to look at it. It might be a 2 second fix. Have them show you what they did in case you have the same problem again.

jprince46

I did this one... got AC and DC wiring backwards....

AC for accessories
DC for track..

PRRThomas11