True Blast horn not working

Started by bonitatrains, August 26, 2012, 10:42:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bonitatrains

I just purchased a Williams o gauge santa fe gp-9 locomotive and the true blast horn does not work.
I am new to Williams and looking for any suggestions on what may be wrong.
Is there a battery or sound board?
Before I start tinkering, I would like input from those who may know about these locos.
Thanks, as any input would be appreciated

Ron Sims

I would look inside first and make sure the boards are all plugged in ok. There is a silver reostat that can be adjusted for sound level and maybe that needs a slight budge.
Ron

phillyreading

There are a few things that could be wrong on your end. First did you hold the whistle or horn button for at least three seconds? Second is the polarity to the track could be wrong, try switching wires around, that should help if a polarity issue.
Third, what kind of transformer are you using?
With my Williams and True Blast 2, I have found MTH Z-1000 to work the best, then the post-war ZW by Lionel. Another transformer that should work well is the Atlas or Williams 80 watt.
Have not used the CW-80 by Lionel as it don't play well with some of my other engines.

Lee F.

jpstrainyard

JP of Acton MA USA writes,

Generally, Williams locos do not use batteries for sounds, just a circuit board with a speaker. I have a pre-WBB SF FP45 loco. It just has a standard horn only unit (no true blast), and it works fine with any controller, postwar or modern. So long as the polarity is correct, the horn should work.
JP
Sincerely: JP

cantrellwd

Tried the polarity reversal and it works now, but the bell doesn't.  One way bell works, the other way the horn works.  Is that normal?  I am using a Lionel 90W transformer.

phillyreading

Quote from: cantrellwd on January 06, 2013, 07:05:12 AM