News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

All the same loco's

Started by Balrog21, September 02, 2013, 09:11:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Balrog21

I've been watching pretty hard now since school has kicked back in gear and it's the beginning of train season again. I've noticed that most manufacture's do the same loco(s) for their big release(s) of the year.
since I'm new to the hobby is this standard practice or is it some rule the NMRA has set in place that they have to abide by?
I figured that each company would benefit more if they didn't do all the same type of locos...guess I'm wrong in this...

I do know that dummy engines are pretty much a thing of the past, but I wish they would do them again..anywho, I noticed only a few companies do the undecorated version of their models. I know the yardmaster stated that undeco'd loco's don't sell well, but they must somehow or the other companies would be doing them right? or is because Bachmann sells so much the sales don't justify the quantity they would normally produce?

Just rambling and thinking this morning.....

Best,
Bal

phillyreading

Not sure what scale you are referring to, but O gauge has not gotten many new engines in many months. WBB has been producing very few new engines. Seems that some are re-painted for Norfolk Southern; SD-90's instead of SD-70 ACe's.
While I am not into counting rivots as it is called, but want a somewhat prototypical engine modeled after real life locomotives.
While I realize that 3 rail track is not 100% prototypical according to the admin on here, the models should be closer to what was actually used by the real railroads in order to sell better; my 2 cents!

There are 3 rail railroad lines, some are cog railroads and some are standard gauge with a third rail for electric power. So there is a prototype for 3 rail track.

Lee F.

Bucksco