News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Which Sound Decoder

Started by June, September 10, 2007, 02:47:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

June

I have a 2-8-0 and run on DC.  Can anyone suggest which sound decoder I could purchase to install?  Also, is it easier to install it in the tender?  I am new to the hobby and need something relatively easy to install.  Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks, Bob

fieromike

Quote from: June on September 10, 2007, 02:47:52 PM
I have a 2-8-0 and run on DC.  Can anyone suggest which sound decoder I could purchase to install?  Also, is it easier to install it in the tender?  I am new to the hobby and need something relatively easy to install.  Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks, Bob
If you're new to this, a sound decoder in the 2-8-0 isn't what you want to start with.  The available room in the loco itself is barely large enough for the smallest non-sound Z-scale decoders.  I haven't tried yet, but have heard that the tender is also difficult to open up without damaging something.
I believe that the newest run of the "J" steamers is capable of having a sound decoder installed in the tender without too much grief.

Mike

June

I read a post from Prometheus? that recommeded the Digitrax DZ123 (for Z scale) and the DZ143 (scale unknown) for the N scale 2-8-0 so I looked them up on the internet and found that they are sound decoders.  If the Spectrum is "DCC ready" (whatever that means) shouldn't I be able to use one of the above decoders in my 2-8-0 ???
Thanks, Bob

Hunt

Bob,
DCC Ready means the motor brushes are isolated from the power pickups and there is some means to accept the installation of a decoder... a socket, solder pads, wires or something else. The easy way to isolate the motor brushes is to isolate the motor.