News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Will it work?

Started by andyandtherman, January 16, 2014, 08:05:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

andyandtherman

Hello everyone. I'm completely new to model trains so be patient ;)

My 7 year old boy is a train nut so I got a bachmann set with the old NS passenger locos. I've added a bunch of freight cars as well as tracks so it's getting some size to it now. All that said, I have 2 questions that hopefully someone can answer.

1) The locomotives spin their wheels when pulling cars, but they operate perfectly normal on their own. What needs to be done?

2) He's interested in getting some freight train locomotives such as UP, etc. I see some advertised on E Bay or Amazon that are HO scale. Will they work on the bachmann set or do they have to be made by bachmann in order to work?

Thanks very much for your help!

Andy

jward

if your locomotives are spinning their wheels under load it begs two questions. 1. are they running on level track or on an upgrade? 2. how many cars are you trying to pull?

as for locomotives on ebay, with the exception of marklintrains, any ho train should run on your track. that said, not all locomotives are create equal. ebay can be a crap shoot, expecially for a novice. there are a lot of 20+ year old locomotives out there that were poorly made even when they were new. the years have not been kind to them. bottom line: if I were you, I'd steer clear of ebay until you better understand what is being sold, and buy new locomotives instead of used. most newer locomotives run at leastas well as the really good ones from 20 years ago. they have inproved in quality that much.....
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

jonathan

Welcome to the world's greatest hobby and to the forum!  Lots of friendly folks here who will help as best we can.