News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Mogul 2-6-0 Whistle

Started by ivet22, December 07, 2013, 09:26:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ivet22

I've just ordered the Yellow Pine Mogul 2-6-0, and I am very new to G scale.  And very excited.

I have a small setup just for holidays, and I am running DC.

I see that the locomotive and tender include the chuff sounds, but what about a whistle/bells? 
Do I need to replace what's in there with a phoenix system?  If so, is this easy to do?
1 more, can I control the whistle with something manually, like a push button?

Ok, 1 more... Are there any options in G scale to control the locomotive and sounds with a mobile device, such as iPad?  I want to be the cool uncle this year, and have as much enjoyment possible with this beautiful train.

Thanks so much in advance.  I apologize if I missed a thread that has some of these answers already.

Kevin Strong

How "realistic" do you want the sounds, and how much money are you thinking of dropping into this? The Phoenix sound would most certainly work (the PB11 would be the one you want for traditional track power), but it's also going to cost you $200. But you'd use that for the chuff, bell, whistle, and myriad other sounds the board makes. For track-powered applications, most folks trigger the bells and whistles with track magnets and reed switches mounted on the bottom of the locomotive (the tender, in this case).

Lower-cost options would include Dallee and MyLocoSound. The Dallee system ($110) is a digital system whose only weakness is that it's "monophonic," meaning it can play only one sound at a time. If you ring the bell or blow the whistle, the chuff drops out. Not a dealbreaker, but if you're particularly OC about sound, you'll notice it. They make two versions; you'll want the $110 version that plays a selection of random whistle signals whenever the trigger is set off. That's ideal for track magnets.