News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

EMD F SERIES DIESEL LOCO IDENTIFICATION

Started by GRASHLEY, August 03, 2014, 09:37:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GRASHLEY

I am relatively new to small scale model railroading.  I model N scale.

Is there any way to distinguish an F3 from an F7 from an F9?  I know the HP is different, but in model locos, this is a moot issue.  Are there any physical or appearance differences?  What does a passenger steam / power package look like?

Thank you in advance.

brokemoto

Here are the general rules:

F-3s have high shrouds around the cooling fans.  F-7s and F-9s do not have shrouds around the cooling  fans.

Dynamic brakes on F-3s have grids; on F-7s and F-3s, there is a fan.  It is larger than the cooling fans.

F-3s have 'chicken wire' vents on the sides. F-7s and F-9s have grilles.

The grilles on the sides of F-7s are different from those of F-9s.

Keep in mind that these are general rules.  Most diesel locomotives came in what spotters call 'phases'.  As a manufacturer made improvements, at times, the addition of these improvements would alter the appearance of the locomotive.

Some of the later model F-3s came without the shrouds around the cooling fans.  Some of the later model F-7s came with F-9 type grilles.  These are just examples.