News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Broken truck mounting screw

Started by Trainman203, June 11, 2015, 06:54:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trainman203

A brass screw into the under frame bolster of an old "zamac" die cast underframe broke off inside.  Any ideas how to get that out?   

jbrock27

Drill it out, tap for a new screw that will fit the hole and the truck and put in the new screw.  Or, drill it out and use a self tapping sheet metal screw that is just a little bigger than the hole and will still fit through the truck hole.
Keep Calm and Carry On

richardl

This will require a steady hand and sharp drill bit. I use kerosene for lubricant.
A vise would be a great help and maybe even a drill press. As a former mechanic, I was able to do this where I worked.
I finally bought a Dremel drill press and a vise to fit on it for at home projects.

I do remember tapping for a 2-56 machine screw.

Rich

jbrock27

I should ask, are you able to take things apart to get at whatever may be left of the screw on the inside.  My first response was based on my first thought you were asking about a freight car.  Are you?
Keep Calm and Carry On

richardl

Yeah. Can you see the other end of the screw?

Rich

electrical whiz kid