News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

connections

Started by jmmrlm, November 18, 2016, 03:29:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmmrlm

I have some experience with HO EZ  Track, but no experience with Flextrack.
Does the flextrack come in different heights and if so which one would I use for HO and how would I adjust to match with the HO EZ Track ?
Any issues with heights of the two different  tracks ?
What are the connectors to use between sections of the flextrack and between the flextrack and the EZ Track ?
how do you connect Bachmann HO EZ Track to Bachmann Flextrack ?
How do you cut the Flextrack for different lengths ?
Anything else to be aware of ?

Thanks.

Flare

Yes, flextrack is available in different heights, I believe E-Z Track is code 100.

Not really, the most popular non-100 code is 83 (More prototypical) and trains will hop up and down the difference without issue.

You can use standard rail joiners in both cases.

Add a rail joiner on one side of the flextrack and slide it onto the E-Z track.

I like using a razor saw to cut track, the finer the better.

Yes, when you cut the flex track, cut away a tie or two as well so the joiners will have room to slide on.  You can place the removed ties underneath the joiners afterward.

jbrock27

This is MY favorite tool for cutting n/s or brass CODE 100 HO rails:

http://www.sra-solder.com/xuron-2175-maxi-shear-flush-cutters-4626?gclid=CjwKEAiA6rrBBRDsrLGM4uTPkWASJADnWZQ45Gq71-jBrsRoADN98E5G3vRQf4k84I0P2DC1wAQekhoCf6bw_wcB

To get flex track and EZ track to be the same height will require something to raise the height of the flex track, like cork roadbed or pine wood, etc.

Keep Calm and Carry On

ebtnut

You will be better off if you use code 83/code 100 coversion rail joiners for a smooth transition.  Atlas makes them.  Walthers catalog part number 150-551. 

WoundedBear

Quote from: Flare on November 18, 2016, 04:02:57 PM