Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

DCC and sound chip for train

Started by Gonzo27, February 15, 2017, 11:41:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gonzo27

Hi,
I am just starting out in model trains, in the HO scale model

As my first purchase, I recently purchased the Drango and Silverton HO "DCC ready" set.  I would like to put the DCC chip in, along with the sound capability.

What chip etc would you recommend?

Thanks for your help

Gonzo27

Hunt

Requires DCC decoder not just a DCC chip.  (Chip is a misnomer use in some parts when meaning decoder.)

Click Here for suggestion.
   PN 826104 TSU-1000  is discontinued see TSU-2200 and TSU-200
   Use speaker PN 810153 instead of 810054

Read about SoundTraxx decoders and select the one fitting your wants. Shop for best pricing.
PN 884002 TSU-2200 Click Here for Tsunami2 decoder info
PN 881002 ECO-200  Click Here for Econami decoder info

Gonzo27

Mr Hunt,
Thank you for this advice - gratefully received. :D

Hunt

Misprint (in bold) in the installation notes,

3.  Unplug and discard the DCC mobile decoder to expose the NMRA 8-pin plug. (Photo 4)

Should be

3.  Unplug and discard the DCC mobile decoder to expose the NMRA 8-pin socket. (Photo 4)

Topcat

Quote from: Hunt on February 16, 2017, 04:56:11 PM
Misprint (in bold) in the installation notes,

3.  Unplug and discard the DCC mobile decoder to expose the NMRA 8-pin plug. (Photo 4)

Should be

3.  Unplug and discard the DCC mobile decoder to expose the NMRA 8-pin socket. (Photo 4)

Topcat

I have some Bachmann HO" EMD SD40-2 DCC on board. is it possible to add sound to these Locomotives. If it is is it a easy job ? hard job ?

Thanks so much

ACY

Quote from: Topcat on February 24, 2017, 01:45:37 PM
I have some Bachmann HO" EMD SD40-2 DCC on board. is it possible to add sound to these Locomotives. If it is is it a easy job ? hard job