News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

First Layout

Started by CURACAO, February 16, 2007, 05:40:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CURACAO

Hello there, i am new to the hobby.  I have The Explorer Set, First Railroad Track Pack and ez track expander set, some turnouts and crossing. 

What would be the best place to get some layout ideas?  How big should i start?  Since i am a newbie should i start with a 4 X 8 layout?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Is there is software that you could enter your track inventory and it will give you different layout ideas?

Best regards

Brian

SteamGene

Brian, I'm not sure about software that allows for your entering what you have that will spit out a track plan. 
A 4x8 is a good size to begin with.   If you are smart, you will add a turnout on one curve which will allow an expansion.   Keep the first one simple - oval, two sidings, a passing track, the aforementioned enterchange track and have fun, knowing that you can go from there. 
Don't try to cram all your track on your 4x8!  Leave space to begin building your world. 
Have fun and high balls to you. 
BTW, I could use a Curacao tank car, especially loaded!  ::)
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

jesse

Hi, I am also a newbie and I found some nice layouts at this site.

http://www.thortrains.net/poorhox.html

Brian, I meant to post that I love your home town.  My wife and I were there just last month.

If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

BIG BEAR

curacao,
   Please see "New ez track book" posting on this forum.
Barry,

...all the Live long day... If she'd let me.

CURACAO