Compatibility of Bachman Speed Controller to Foreign N Scale Engine

Started by Kellgeo, February 06, 2018, 12:26:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kellgeo

I am new to railroad modelling.  I received a made in Germany N Scale train set for Christmas,  I would like to use the Bachman Power Pack 44211.  My instructions in English state to use 12V DC only.  How would I be able to convert to 12V to use the 44211.  Will I be able also to use Bachman N Scale EZ tracks and terminal rerailer with this foreign made set.   From what I've read, Bachman would be easy for me to assemble.

dutchbuilder

N is a international standard, exept GB.
12Volt is 12Volt , As well in English as in German.
So i see no issue.
It's more a non issue.

Ton

James in FL

If your using the trains in North America, then no problems.
Your transformer takes care of that for you.
The power requirements remain the same across the board (globe).
It's the mains supply that differs.

QuoteN is a international standard, exept GB.
Not sure what is trying to be conveyed here?
Power requirement?
Gauge?
Scale?

dutchbuilder

N scale is an international standard , except for Great Britain , They have a different standard for N scale as they have for H0 (00)

Ton

Len

UK N scale is 1:148 while the rest of the world is 1:160. Something to do with motors at the time not fitting into 1:160 models of UK locomotives.

Len
If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

Maletrain

Many of the previous replys are making more confusion than clarity.

"N gauge" is 9 mm, and track all over the world is all 9 mm for N gauge.  But, real railroads in different parts of the world have different track gauges.  So, when somebody scales-down their trains, buildings, people figures, etc. by the ratio of real track gauge to 9mm, they get slightly different numbers.  That means that "N scale" is different between different countries that have different real railroad track gauges.