News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Prototypes

Started by Terry Toenges, April 03, 2018, 07:15:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Terry Toenges

When I started backdating my Mogul, I was considering my options as to how to do the headlight because I had two box lights to chose from. I decided on the larger metal PSC light. I studied the Mogul light and the PSC light and I figured I could cut ream out the inside of the PSC one and slip it over the stock Bachmann light. That way I wouldn't have worry about doing any rewiring. It was a lot of work but I got it done.
I've seen folks on here say that there's probably a prototype for everything somewhere or words to that effect.
Today, I received Larry Jensen's book "The Hollywood Railroads  - Volume One - Virginia & Truckee".
I started reading it a little while ago and I got to page 10 where he is talking about how Paramount Pictures was having V & T's #22 fixed up to use in the movie "High Wide and Handsome".
Here is the quote from the book, "While Paramount was waiting for the boiler certificate, other work was performed. Before No. 22 left Carson City, the V & T shop crew had replaced it's smokestack with the woodburner-style stack off of No. 12. They also hid its electric headlight inside of the sheet metal housing from a 19th -century box headlight...."
I found my prototype!
Here is V & T's.

Here is mine.

Feel like a Mogul.

bbmiroku

I guess it really is true...
"If you can think it, it's probably been done."

Maletrain

Terry Toenges

Thanks. I'm getting ready to put the rest of the parts on it.
Feel like a Mogul.

Terry Toenges

Speaking of prototypes - I found another one.
For Christmas one year, I put a Bachmann old time combine body on a diesel chassis. No one would ever do something like that, right? Wrong. I found another prototype.
In the movie "Around The World In 80 Days" (Released in 1956) they built an old time baggage car body around an Army diesel.