Bachman Digital Commander Delux Set HO

Started by jjanseni, January 04, 2008, 10:34:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jjanseni

Scale, Category: HO Scale - Sets
Item No: 00501
Name: Digital Commander
Roadname: Santa Fe; Union Pacific

I want to place the above set, with additional EZ track not in the kit, around a room that is 10' X 12'. I understand from reading on the website one can purchase the EZ track straight pieces in a bulk package. Will I need an additional voltage booster. I also want to purchase a truss bridge and have been looking at the Atlas Code 100 truss bridge. Any suggestions would be welcome as I am a novice grandmother/want-a-be carpenter who plans to put this all together around the perimeter of my 6 year old grandson's bedroom. I live in the US just incase you need to know this for the power issue if I indeed have the issue? I hope this message board is the place to post this.

the Bach-man

Dear JJ,
Assuming that your grandson will not be running huge trains, power feeders will probably suffice. These are simply wires that run the original power source to a variety of points around the layout.   If he decides to run long trains with many locomotives you may need to consider our 5 amp booster.
The Atlas bridge will be fine- just cut off the roadbed clip in adjacent sections.
Have fun!
the Bach-man

jjanseni

Thanks for the response. I apologize for being such a novice but would you share any parts numbers or send me to some reading material that will show how the power feeders can be hooked up. I am sure we will need to purchase the 5 Amp booster at some point but I am just getting this up and running above the door frames first. We will get fancy later on as we become more educated. Much appreciated.

THB-DAVE

With a small layout like yours with one engine its unlikely you will need a 5 amp boaster and just adding more power feeders spaced along the rails will deal with any power drop.

Dave

The Old Man