News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

On30 or On3

Started by O-Beginner, May 01, 2007, 11:02:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

O-Beginner

so i'm new at this and i was wondering what is the difference between On3 and On30 ???

Hunt

Both are 1:48 scale

Some of the main differences
On3 models 3 foot gauge prototype
On30 models 30 inch gauge prototype
On30 -- uses HO scale wheels and track geometries
Track gauge
On3 -- 19.0 mm
On30 -- 16.5 mm (same as HO)
Coupler height
On3 -- 14.3 mm
On30 -- 9.93 mm (same as HO)

On3 equipment usually cost more than On30

ebtnut

I might amplify the answer a bit.  Traditionally, On3 has been a minority "craftsman" scale, modeling 3 foot gauge prototypes (D&RGW, SP, EBT, WP&Y, etc.).  Most of the locomotives available in recent years have been pricey brass imports (like $1,500 and up).  Rolling stock is either import brass or craftsman kits.