News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Rolling stock ?

Started by Oz26, February 13, 2008, 01:18:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Oz26

Hi, I'm a first generation "baby boomer" & electronically challenged so bear with me please. I'm new to the G-scale hobby,& had a few questions about rolling stock. First, do Aristo & Bachman cars look ok hooked together ? Just wondering cause the scales are different. Also, can the top of the stock cars be removed on the Bachman cars to make a trailing battery car, easily I hope ? One more thing I just purchased a "10 Wheeler" "Annie" D&RGW, what a beauty!!!! With no owners manuel, I was wondering how to take the tender & loco apart for future battery r/c install?  Thanks, many more questions comming later I'm sure.

Kevin Strong

Quote from: Oz26 on February 13, 2008, 01:18:24 PM
First, do Aristo & Bachman cars look ok hooked together ? Just wondering cause the scales are different.
In short, "no." Certainly the new "Spectrum" line of 1:20 rolling stock will dwarf anything Aristo has. The older 1:22 "Big Hauler" line may be a bit more visually compatible, but being models of wood cars, they would have been outlawed on mainline railroads by the early 1900s. If you're modeling a c. 1900 or earlier standard gauge line, then they can be used--but good luck finding appropriate standard gauge motive power to pull them.

Also, can the top of the stock cars be removed on the Bachman cars to make a trailing battery car, easily I hope ?
Yes. There are 8 tabs--four on each side--that hold the roof in place. Gently pull the sides outwards, and the roof should pop off.

One more thing I just purchased a "10 Wheeler" "Annie" D&RGW, what a beauty!!!! With no owners manuel, I was wondering how to take the tender & loco apart for future battery r/c install?