News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Insulating switches

Started by kevc, May 31, 2008, 03:14:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kevc

Hello!  I'm new to this board and have a question. I have a section of ez track that has two parallel straight lines with a switch section in between.  Both tracks are powered simultaneously by one transformer.  Is there any way to insulate the switch so that the two lines can be powered by two different transformers, so trains can run down each line independently but still switch over? I do not have DCC, so when the power is on everything runs on both lines.  I hope I've explained the problem correctly. (I'm kinda new at this.)  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Please let me know if you need more info.  Thanks! 

Kevin

Daylight4449

it is called block wiring i don't know much about dcc but this should work and if you have dc then great.

1. Cut a gap in each rail at the point of the insulation, be careful not to destroy the track. this will give induvidual direction and speed control.

2. if you want to be able to join one section to another electrically then will run a wire from one section to the other on each set of rails.

Be careful, when a loco bridges the gap from one section to anothe with its wheels power will go in and out sides and if the polarity is oposite then a short will occur.

i do this on my layout.

Guilford Guy

Quote from: Daylight4449 on May 31, 2008, 03:38:15 PM
1. Cut a gap in each rail at the point of the insulation, be careful not to destroy the track. this will give induvidual direction and speed control.

2. if you want to be able to join one section to another electrically then will run a wire from one section to the other on each set of rails.
Right...