News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New to On30 scale

Started by USNavyChiefRet, February 04, 2009, 11:51:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

USNavyChiefRet

I am new to On30 scale having dabbled in HO some, but not with DCC. I am currenlty building a layout in my basement that is going to extend about 11 feet and come out from the wall about 4 ft. I am looking at purchasing a DCC  and sound ready steam locomotive, preferably Bachmann. The one I am looking at is a Spectrum Steam Powered 28-Ton 2-Truck Class B Climax w/Straight Boiler-Pocahontas Lumber Company #7. The Bachmann product number is bac25760. It says it is DCC and sound ready, which I believe means it's ready for the install of a decoder as well as a sound decoder/speaker. I know only what I've been able to read about online concerning DCC. I have a On30 scale train by Bachmann but it is only DC (A Thomas Kinkade Christmas set). What do I need for a decoder? Will the E-Z Command Decoder w/NMRA plug #44915 work? It says this decoder has 28/128 speed steps, service mode decoder lock, programming on the main, 2 or 4 digit addressing, advanced consisting, etc. What sound decoder should I be looking at? I would like one that has a lot of sounds to it. Any help would sure be appreciated. Thanks

JohnR

If it's within your budget, I would suggest considering the Climax's with factory sound installed.  Ready to run DCC w/sound right out of the box.   

If you go with a DCC ready unit, you'll need a decoder or a sound/decoder.  It's an either or situation.  For a basic decoder, I've frequently used Digitrax DZ series.  If you want sound as well as loco controll, Soundtraxx microTsunami (TSU-750) Light Logging is the equivalent to Bachmann's sound equipped versions.  You'll also need an appropriate speaker for the available space in the fuel bunker.