News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Wish I had 100 of these.

Started by jonathan, June 12, 2009, 09:15:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jonathan

Allrighty then,  this is a test to see if I got the system down, now.  I resized this image to "320" wide.  Can you see it?  If so, this is an old Roundhouse kit #1427 B&O Rectangular 20' ore car.  I fell in love with it the minute I saw it on an LHS shelf... abandoned and alone.  I rescued it, and now I'm on a never ending quest to find its identical bretheren and sistern. 

It looks great behind my connies, 44-tonner, and H16-44.  The weathering is all dry-brush.  I think the greenish tint is the reflection off the ground foam onto the car.  I'm a lousy photographer, but will get better.

Regards,  Jonathan

SteamGene

Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

jonathan

Gene,

The car number is 975.  The kit model number is 1427.

S,

Jonathan (RPC, USNret) brother?

RAM

I have 4 red one undec.  I may have more of different road names. 

jonathan

RAM

I've only found one other so far.  It was light  LIGHT green.  Penn Central or something.  I repainted it to match the B&O (hull red plus a touch of this and a touch of that).  Now I need Capitol Dome Decals or dry transfers.
R, Jonathan

ALCOS4EVER

I see these as kits and already built for sale at train shows a lot. Usually about $5.00 each.
     I saw a 100 plus car train of these operate at a model RR club open house in Mass. a couple of years ago. Very impressive. I love long trains.
     Good work and good luck.

uncbob

I bought 12 of Walters new Data only Ore cars and decorated them for my ME&O
Made my own fake ore loads

Had my 4-8-2 pulling 24 coal cars and the 12   ores plus caboose

Looks neat but a bit too long for my 4X10 layout 

WoundedBear

Try some of these ones. I have a string of these servicing the mines on my layout.