News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Mystery black stuff

Started by Georgeuu, November 29, 2009, 06:43:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Georgeuu

Hi,

I am very new to this hobby so please forgive my ignorance. I just purchased a Spectrum 2-10-2 locomotive online and there was a small plastic bag with some black powder packed with the train. What is it and what is it for?

Thanks

George

jonathan

George,

Welcome to the world's greatest hobby!--Most of us think so anyway. :)

That bag of black stuff is extra coal for your tender.  You can spread a little white glue on the existing coal and sprinkle some of the bag o' black stuff on top,  for a more realistic look--so I'm told.  It's optional and I opted out.

Many of us wondered what that bag was for, when we received our first Spectrum steamer.  Not to worry... for some reason that bag was left off the intructions.

Congratulations on your new locomotive.  When you have questions about turning radius and maintenance, we'll be here.

Regards,

Jonathan

CNE Runner

George - I used that 'little black bag' on one of my Bachmann Spectrum American 4-4-0 locomotives; and it looks great. As Jonathan said; use white glue (or matte medium) to secure the 'coal' to your tender (it is also a good idea to sprinkle a little on the tender water tank [key phrase: a little] as there was always some coal spillage when a tender was refilled.

You could also use the 'coal' as a scenic enhancement around coaling towers, coal depots, or around a coal storage house. I advise you not to throw it out if you decided not to use it on your locomotive...you will find a use for it in the future.

Welcome to our family,
Ray
"Keeping my hand on the throttle...and my eyes on the rail"

Georgeuu