EZ Track Remote Turnout and Bachmann Trains Digital Commander Ready-to-Run DCC-E

Started by jcarli00, January 07, 2010, 09:19:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcarli00

I'm new to trains, so be easy on me.  I purchased for my 9 year old son a Bachmann Trains Digital Commander Ready-to-Run DCC-Equipped HO Train Set for Christmas.  The set has the 2 DCC engines, and my son loves it.  Over the weekend we picked up a book to make a much larger set, and the new layout includes the Remote Turnout Left (44561)and Right ...in fact 2 of each style turnout.  How can I wire these turnouts to work with my 10 button digital commander?  Will it work, or do I have to purchase a new controller?  Thanks in advance for your help.

[attachment deleted by admin]

ABC

I suggest you use either an old power pack or if necessary buy a standard Dc/analog power pack and use the AC output to power your turnouts. The problem with the DCC controller is that although you could theoretically use it to power your turnouts when running 2 engines simultaneously you will run out of amps which will cause both trains to stop or slow down a lot when you throw turnouts.

Cody J

I agree with ABC on this. For my new DCC layout using EZ-Command my turnouts will be regular DC/analog and will be powered using my old DC controller. Simply plug the DC controller in to the wall outlet and plug the switch wires in to the accessory slot, don't plug the DC controller into the track.

hope this helps,
cody
CSX Mt. Storm Subdivision- Freemont, West Virginia

http://s277.photobucket.com/albums/kk49/trainsrock96/

jcarli00

what do I ask for at the hobby store (any specific brand), and how much am I looking at spending for this new piece of equipment?  Thanks again.

jc

ripvanwnkl

Hi JC,