HO Christmas Reversing Trolley Car Set problems

Started by AlucardMCDXXXI, June 03, 2010, 12:12:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AlucardMCDXXXI

hello everyone i have been having problems on and off with this product since i 1st got it but but when it works right it works great, there has to be some little demon in my setup that I'm over looking and maybe someone here can help me figure out what it is. whats happening at the moment is the trolley doesn't want to pick up the power from the track. I purchased another HO trolley to make sure that mine wasn't bad but the new one doesn't work on it either. I also trouble shot the both tolley's by putting direct power to the wheels and both motors ran perfect. I have a bachelors of science in electrical engineering so i figured i would trouble shoot it best i know how, i ever so gently ripped into the thing to see how far the power was actually going checking for shorts in the wires. the power transformer puts the proper voltage out from the control unit and sends it all the way to the track all that seems to check out just fine but when i run the volt meter across the two tracks it shows nothing. i think maybe i ran the track wrong but lost my instructions so i have no clue. if someone has those or can give me an idea of what might be up with it i would be more then thankfull

Jhanecker2

to Alucard MCDXXXI :  Question ?  Is all your track  reversing track ? I seem to recall that reversing track has extra circuitry that is utilized by the trolley controls in the station. You might want to test the continuity of each track piece seperately and make sure all the rail joiners are making contact.  Does the transformer output to a plug or does it connect with two single condutor wires ?

AlucardMCDXXXI