News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

HELP!!!! did i mess up my bachmann loco?

Started by SantaFeliners, November 28, 2010, 01:40:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SantaFeliners

ok guys here it goes....im new to this hobby ive always been into trains but never got around to getting me a set until now. Well my problem is that first i bought a life like santa fe train kit that comes with like 5 cars, tracks ect ect.....so i went ahead and bought a dcc bachmann santa fe loco and when i tried to run it on the life like tracks it would be very slow so i had to move the power to max to get it to run fast. But then the most horrible smell starting to come out of the loco like if it was burning and now it wont run at all. Did i fry the engine? can anyone help me out here? thanks.

simkon

You may have overheated it causing damage. For future reference, it is best not to turn the rheostat (speed regulator) all the way up. Also, the reasons why your loco won't run very fast is the track is dirty, which made the locomotive's wheels dirty, also the decoder draws more power requiring the dial to be turned higher than a comparable DC loco. A DCC loco is best run with a DCC controller, it does no good to buy a DCC loco if you have no intentions to by a DCC system, then you would get the same performance as a standard DC loco (well actually slightly worse).

SantaFeliners

so basically i damaged the loco? how bad is it? and is it repairable? what should i do next?

simkon

Check all the connections, if the loco is not running, also see if anything is jamming the mechanism.

SantaFeliners

it wont run i tried everything.....i notice that when i put it on the track theres a spark coming from when the wheels meet the rails but it wont move....im guessing i need an ez command unit. what do you suggest?

simkon

An E-Z command won't help if the loco is damaged and in need of repair.

SantaFeliners

bobwrgt