News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Wanting to Build set with Daughter

Started by steelheadjph, August 20, 2010, 05:41:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

steelheadjph

Ok, I am new to this so here I go.  My family and I want to build a train set and we have an idea in mind.  However we are very limited in funds and need some advice on how to go about this.  My daughter wants to do this with me and to have it done before our Christmas open house in December.  Any help would be great and thanks in advance for the advice.

jettrainfan

From my experience, i'd say start out with a bachmann train set. $50 is a geuss. Now, whatever you do, don't buy a life like or model power set! They tend to not last long sadly. After you get your set, you can start buying more track, cars, diesels\steamers and have a blast! Bachmann sells freight cars for about $8-10 on websites like hobbylinc and model train stuff and you might be able to buy track cheaper at a local hobby shop. Hope this helps! ;)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZL7jR1cRb4             

This is how i got my name and i hope that you guys like it.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jettrainfan?feature=mhw4
youtube account

OldTimer

I hope you have a hobby shop within a reasonable distance, because that is absolutely the BEST place to start.  Talk with the folks who work there, and get them to recommend a book on basic model railroading.  Atlas has some excellent books with track plans and discussions on building benchwork and doing wiring.  Look at the various scales available.  Each has its advantages, but HO is the most popular scale and consequently is the most reasonably priced and has the largest selection of equipment.

Buy trains that are age-appropriate.  Scale model trains are not toys and won't stand up to being "played with."  If young children are involved, consider "tinplate" trains like the Williams line of trains by Bachmann.