New - Need Assistance - 240v Power Supply - DCC Controller

Started by robogo, November 26, 2010, 04:45:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

robogo

Hallo there, I am new to Model Railroading, wanted to get a train set  for some time, decided that I will spoil myself a bit this Christmas.

Just bought on eBay (new, still waiting on delivery) 120 x pcs of Bachmann HO Gray track including 12 x Crossovers, Turnouts and Wye's, 3 x Ho30 Bachmann Locomotives, 1 x DCC and Sound equipped, 1 x DCC equipped, 1 x DCC ready.

I did not buy a DCC Controller because I am still trying to figure which will be best suited, considering one from Bachmann or perhaps the Digitrax DCS50.

The Power Supply is my biggest concern, I did read a lot about power supplies but I must admit that I do not understand exactly what is needet to run this setup (also considering future expansion).

As I am from South Africa I need a 240v power supply/transformer which seems very hard to find.

Can someone please explain to me the difference between a Switch (as included in the First Track Pack) and a Decoder DCC Turnout, I would like to controll all turnouts with a DCC Controller, is there any extrass that is needed to controll these switches/turnouts?

I woud like to have this setup running by the New Year, your help and assistance will be greatly appreciated.

bobwrgt

You will have to purchase an adapter to convert the 240 Volt to 110-120 volt input if you want to use any system made for the US market. The output for the train after conversion would be correct.
You might look to Ebay in the UK for a power supply as 240 volt is more common in Europe.
Someone Else will have to answer your questions on switches as i don't have knowledge of those.

Bob

Hamish K