News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New to Model Railroading

Started by ericw95, January 30, 2011, 08:03:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ericw95

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to model railroading and have just finished my first layout. Being my first layout, I made various mistakes and hope to rectify them with a new layout. First, how does atlas code 55 run versus peco code 55? Also, are peco code 55 turnouts compatible with atlas code 55 flex track? Finally, what book works the best as a general overview to creating a layout? Thanks for any input guys!

jake_iv

Jeeze, sounds like you got the dregs of the production run.  I shook mine out of the box - checked it for proper lube too much grease is not unheard of and after 1 hour of breakin at various speeds it has run like a top.  Runs so well that I invested in a Vande tender and a number of details to  turn it into an acceptable model of the C & O J3A #610.

Laura is a jewel though, she has always been a great help to me whether as a dealer or a customer.

I have to wonder though about the price you paid.  Current MSRP on the Empire Builder is $240 - wholesale from Walthers is $144 and Distributer cost from Bachmann regional warehouse is $101; the 2006/2007 price was $84 Distributor cost and $200 retail.  I know that there are some great buys on Amazon I shop there too but if I read your post correctly you got the set for 10% to 20% of current retail.  A sale price in the range of $85 to $125 from someplace by Favorite Spot or M B Klein I could see since they are Distributors  - but $25 to $50???

The best part though is Bachmann's liberal warranty.  Even if you had bought a used train at a garage sale the warranty charge to repair or replace with the same unit would be $25 or less.