News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Need tips on kitbashing 4-6-0

Started by Matt Bumgarner, June 19, 2007, 09:37:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matt Bumgarner

I am getting ready to bash a Spectrum 4-6-0 into a specific model and have a few questions, as this is my first attempt at working with a steam model.
Any help is appreciated:

a) Do the details such as running boards/air pumps/bell merely pull out of the shell or are they glued and need to be loosened from within the shell?

b) Any suggestions for removing the current headlight and replacing it with a different version with a visor (Precision Scale?)

c) The smaller tender from the 52" driver version looks much more appropriate to my prototype than the larger one that comes with the 63" Spectrum model. The problem is that this smaller tender is much lower than the cab floor of the higher-drivered model. Can anyone suggest a manufacturer of larger diameter metal wheelsets? I know I will need to lower the coupler for this mod, but I don't have a better idea of how to do it.

Thanks in advance!

Matt

brad

Matt,

I know the domes are screwed on from inside the boiler other than that I don't know. I tugged at some of the details a bit to see if they would come off easy, but they didn't so I left them alone for repainting. As far as just changing the wheels on your tender to get the correct height, you may have to also change the trucks as larger wheels might not turn in the frames, You'll probably also have to shim the trucks from the tender floor to gain clearance.

brad.
I drempt, I planned, I'm building

lanny

Hi Matt,

I have just finished the boiler of a Spectrum 2-8-0 with major kit bashing work. I haven't done a 4-6-0, though that is on the list for later one, since the ICRR did use that wheel arrangement.