News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Newbie turnout questions

Started by fmp, October 18, 2011, 04:54:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fmp

Hi All,

I am new to model railroading and I recently ordered my son a Bachmann DCC train set, model 501.  I also got some extra track and some remote turnouts, (not the DCC ones, they were just to expensive), so he can expand his track and I have a few questions I was hoping someone could help with.

1. In order to power the turnouts, I believe I will need an additional power supply, is this correct?
2. If I do, will any power supply do I or should I get something specific?
3. Is there any special way the power supply needs to be connected?
4. How many turnouts can be connected to the power supply?  Right now I purchased 3, but if he really gets into it, I will get him more.

Thank you in advance for any and all help!

Jim Banner

Hi fmp

1. Correct
2. Any power supply that puts out 12 to 16 volts ac or dc at 500 to 1000 milliamps (1/2 amp to 1 amp) will do the job.
3. The turnouts come with a cord to connect from turnout to control switch and another to connect from control switch to power supply.  Just connect the latter to your power supply.  If your power supply is a "wall wart" (looks like a fat plug) then you will have to cut and splice some wires.  Just make sure you insulate the bare splices so that they cannot touch and short out the power.
4.  The control switches are designed to be connected one to the next.  You can connect as many together as you want and have as many turnouts as you want because they draw power only when the control switch is pushed.  So unless you try to throw many at the same time, the current is just the current drawn by any one of them.

Jim
Growing older is mandatory but growing up is optional.

fmp

Thanks for the quick reply.