News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

TRAIN SIZE DIFFERENCE IM NEW TO HO

Started by JIMLEO, January 03, 2012, 08:51:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JIMLEO

I BOUGHT THE RAIL CHEIF SET WITH A BIG DIESEL ENGINE AND THE I BOUGHT A STEAM ENGINE AND COAL TENDER  ITS HO BUT SMALLER IN SIZE WHAT GIVES

Jhanecker2

All capital letters means you are shoutiing .  Locomotives even in the Same scale are different sizes . The differences are caused by the type of engine  and what it was originally designed to do . A 4-4-0 built around the 1850's is significantly smaller than a Challenger or a "Bigboy" built in the  1940's . the same applies to diesels , the originals were conceived as switchers to handle yard fuctions to the modern high power road engines that can generate  6000 HP .  A model is a replica of a proto-typical machine .  J2.

Doneldon

JL-

Railroads buy locomotives for the same reasons we buy personal vehicles. Some of us only need in-town transportation for two so they only buy a smaller car. Others need great carrying capacity so they buy vans (for lots of people) or trucks. Still others need something to carry their egos so they buy expensive sports cars or enormous Freudian SUVs which never carry more than three people and a bag of groceries but that's okay because the rest of us will understand that they are Real Men.